महानगरीय प्रहरी आयुक्तको कार्यालय, रानीपोखरीका तर्फबाट विदाईको क्रममा मायाको चिनो ग्रहण गर्नुहुँदै प्र.ना.म.नि. विश्वराज सिंह शाहीज्यू ।
नव नियुक्त निमित्त कार्यालय प्रमुख प्र.ना.म.नि. विज्ञानराज शर्माज्यूलाई स्वागत गर्नुहुँदै प्र.ब.उ. बलराम शर्मा पौडेल ।


The Metropolitan Police Commissioner’s Office [MPCO], Ranipokhari, Kathmandu was established on 01/08/2063 B.S. as the primary law enforcement agency for Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur districts of the Kathmandu Valley. It has authority to command all the police components located in its area of responsibility. The chief of Metropolitan Police is the Police Commissioner (Additional Inspector General of Police, AIGP) who reports to the Inspector General of Police.

MPCO Building Metropolitan Police Logo

Metropolitan Police Flag

The Metropolitan Police comprises of Public Security Division, Administration Division, Intelligence Division, Inspectorate, Crime Division, Traffic Division, Armed Police Battalion, Riot Control Battalion, Garrison Battalion, Control Room, 3 Ranges, 18 Circles, 50 Sectors, 3 Area Police Offices and 23 Police Posts at present. Other Divisions and Sections will become functional in due course.